Movement Digital Limited | WhatsApp Launches ‘unsend’ Feature

WhatsApp Launches ‘unsend’ Feature

Home / Blog / WhatsApp Launches ‘unsend’ Feature

There are few things within our online social landscape that haunt us more than the sending a WhatsApp message which hits the screen of an unintended recipient or simply fills you with a wave of dread and horror the second your finger taps that ‘send’ icon.

With the fast evolution of more or less every digital innovation exists, many, if not all of us at some time or another have cursed the lack of ‘recall’ function on WhatsApp. Well, just in time for many hungover Halloween horror stories, the world’s most popular messaging app has launched a much-anticipated ‘Unsend’ functionality.
It’s been in development for months, but the new function, which is officially called ‘Delete for Everyone’, has now started rolling out to users of the most recent version of the app. Similarly to Instagram messenger, this feature will allow users to revoke a message within seven minutes, so long as the recipient has not read the message yet and both of you are using the latest version of the app.
During an FAQ session explaining how to use the new feature, WhatsApp explained that “This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake […] Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with ‘This message was deleted’ in your recipients’ chats […]. Similarly, if you see ‘This message was deleted’ in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.”To unsend a message, tap and hold the message you wish to recall, then choose ‘Delete’ from the menu then ‘Delete for Everyone’.
Bless you, WhatsApp.

 

Recommended Posts
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.